Joshua Slocum Society International Joshua Slocum

Slocum Awards

About the Society  
Slocum Awards
Single Handed
Joshua Slocum
and His Travels
The Slocum Society has, in years past, celebrated notable small boat passages through the presentation of the: Also we have recognized notable writing dealing with small boats through Here is a little bit of background on these awards.
* THE SLOCUM AWARD, named in honor of our own Captain Joshua Slocum, the first man to sail alone around the world, is awarded for "the most notable single-handed passage made during the past year." The first SLOCUM AWARD was presented for 1956 to Vito Dumas for his:
Single-handed voyage from France to the Argentine in LEGH I (1931-2).
  Single-handed voyage around the world via the Cape of Good Hope and Cape Horn with only three stops in LEGH II (1942-3).
  Single-handed voyage around the world via the Cape of Good Hope and Cape Horn with only three stops in LEGH II (1942-3).
  Single-handed voyage from Argentina to the United States via Bermuda in SIRO (1956)
  Although future awards were to be presented for voyages substantially taken or completed during the past year, it was proposed that there be no time limit on considering the candidates for the initial award. It is interesting that the early members of the society were vehement in insisting that Joshua Slocum not receive the first award because nothing could add to his honors. Hence it was voted to Vito Dumas.
* THE VOSS AWARD, named in honor of Captain J.C.Voss, the first man to sail around the world with a crew member, is made for "the most notable two-man transoceanic passage made during the past year." The first VOSS AWARD was presented to Ian Major and Gordon Sillars for their crossing of the Atlantic in BUTTERCUP, a unique yacht with streamlined cockpit cover, servo rudder and wind vane self steering gear, unstayed cantilever mast, and square sail.
* THE J.B. CHARCOT AWARD, named jointly for the French explorer and for the fishing ketch bearing his name which was sailed by Raymond du Baty, is presented for "the most notable use of a working boat or a working boat fleet during the past year." For 1956 no one was presented with this award.
* THE HAKLUYT AWARD, named for Richard Hakluyt, the incomparable compiler of maritime voyages, is presented for "the most notable writing dealing with boats." For 1956 it was awarded to Boris Lauer-Leonardi, Editor of The Rudder magazine for "the high literary standards of his editorials which so excellently equate the romance of yachting with the menacing realities of the sea."
* GOLDEN CIRCLE AWARD Awarded to members who have circumnavigated the world. This award will be awarded to qualified individuals that fall in any of the following categories:
Level 1. Solo circumnavigation passing through either the Suez or Panama Canals or both.
Level 2. Passing around Cape Horn and Cape of Good Hope
Level 3. Passing around both Cape Horn, Good Hope and Cape Lleuwin (South of Australia)
Level 4. Passing around Cape Horn, Good Hope, Cape Lleuwin and South East Cape (Tasmania)
Level 5. Passing Cape Horn, Good Hope, Cape Lleuwin, South Cape and South West Cape of New Zealand
Level 6. Solo, non stop, must pass all 5 capes in any order, does not allow passing through either the Suez and or the Panama Canals
* NORTHERN LIGHT AWARD The Northern Lights Award was established to recognize the captains and crew of merchant vessels who have rendered outstanding service to distressed yacht, The award is named for the merchant ship that was under the command of Captain Slocum when it rescued a party of ship-wrecked Gilbert Islanders in mid-Pacific in the late 1800's.
The first Northern Lights Award was presented to the captain and crew of the Norwegian motorship, Toro Horten who rescued the survivors of the capsized replica, Pride of Baltimore, in the Bermuda Triangle in 1986.
  The second award was made in 1988, during the tenure of Dom Holm, Past Commodore of the Society. The recipients were the captain and crew of the South African fishing vessel, the Afrikaner, for outstanding seamanship in the rescue of the Canadian vessel, Irene, and its crew from a remote area of the South Atlantic after being dismasted during a fierce storm. The crew drifted nine days and more than 60 miles, surviving on what was left of their fresh water and some canned food before being sighted by the mate of the stern trawler, Afrikaner whose Captain Leonard Geland, halted the drag underway and diverted course for the rescue, This second award was made in Cape Town South Africa.
  A third award was presented to Captain Popov Victor of the Safmarine Emonti for the rescue of David Clark of the sloop Molly Milar.
    Back to Top of Page


E-mail Us Please Sign or View Our

Designed by E.G.Consulting & Computer Services.
Material Copyright © 2001-2011 Joshua Slocum Society International Inc.